More Fitness. More Knowledge. More Results.

Mondays with Mason: but, christmas cookies…

Screen Shot 2013-12-23 at 1.39.30 PM

Originally, yes, my post today was going to be a “how to survive christmas” type of fitness post. However, I realized that instead of trying to “survive” the holidays, you should just enjoy them. Take the opprotunity of all the excess food you are eating and put it to good use… IN THE GYM

The holiday season, or as I like to call it “bulking season” is a time that most forget about fitness goals and just eat their weight in turkey, christmas cookies, and other miscellanous delicious things. Most people pack on a few pounds during this time of year. Then as soon as January rolls around everyone is back on their fitness grind with their resulutions in full swing. Why not take advantage of all the  extra the food you are eating, and make some serious gains in the weight room? Now I’m not just talking about muscle growth, but also strength. With the influx of calories you are eating, you may as well use them with a good hard lifting session.

Screen Shot 2013-12-23 at 1.25.25 PM

Well put Buddy.

Tomorrow is Christmas eve. Many of you will be spending time with family, sleeping in, never leaving the couch, and indulging in good food. While that sounds uh-may-zing, I challenge you to get a good workout in before you eat yourself into a food coma. EARN YOUR COMA!

My EPIC refeed days are always based around my heaviest training days, usually leg day. Training your legs is a great way to burn loads of calories, and make total body gains. Squatting for example hits your quads, glutes, and  core. Mix it up with how you load a squat (front squat for example) and you train various parts of your body differently. Another fun thing that I like to add to my leg day is explosive movements. While home on break, I don’t have access to olympic bars or platforms for olympic lifts, so instead I like to throw in some dumbbell snatch, or box jumps to spike my heart rate.

So, leave the house and TRAIN. 

Screen Shot 2013-12-23 at 1.24.26 PM

Santa knows if you worked out or not…

Screen Shot 2013-12-23 at 1.34.01 PM

My current christmas list..

Here is what I plan to do tomorrow:
(most of my exercises are paired with another one to keep me constantly moving)

A. Box Jumps 4 (sets) x 3 (reps)
A. DB Snatch 4x3e

B. Back squat 2×6 , 2×4, 2×3, 1×2
(adding about 5-10lbs with each set, work up to ONLY being able to do 2)

C. Front Squat 2×6 , 2×4, 2×3, 1×2

D. Rear Foot Elevated Single Leg Squat 4x6e
D. Stiff leg Deadlift 4×10

E. Walking Lunges 3×20 steps down, 20 steps back…BRUTAL

The last time I did this workout I was drenched in sweat, and I still feel sore today.

So, now that you worked your butt off at the gym in the morning, maybe you wont feel as bad about eating that second cookie, or indulging in some egg nog. Heck, maybe you won’t indulge at all beacuse you don’t want to mess up your great workout. The human brain is a funny thing.

One last thing:

Screen Shot 2013-12-23 at 2.00.29 PM

Happy Holidays!!

-Kate

Leave a Reply

