More Fitness. More Knowledge. More Results.

Ladies Night – I Just Want Chocolate!

I Just Want Chocolate!!!

Posted on August 15, 2013 – by Christina Warren

      I hate dieting!! I honestly feel that I deprive myself of so many delicious types of foods because I am constantly worried about how much sugar or fat is in something, such as chocolate or anything that is made with chocolate which I have to say, I crave chocolate on a regular basis. Like most girls, I think to myself “great if I eat too much of this its going to go straight to my hips” or “ what am I going to have to do to burn this off”. But I decided that because my body is something I want to be proud of and work hard for then I need to tame my sweet tooth.

When it comes to losing weight or maintaining a healthy weight diet is 80% of the work and exercise is 20%. But… some how I want to get my chocolate fix and I have found that it is easier to stay on track with a healthy life style if you let yourself cheat once in a while. Now this doesn’t mean you can have your fix every other day or “well it was just 3 cookies last night” or “I had a good breakfast but my lunch and dinner weren’t so great”. I give you credit for the healthy breakfast, but you will feel much better at the end of the day when you can say that you ate clean and didn’t have to cheat once!

When you eat clean, your body just feels so much better, and I have found that I just have more energy overall. Because I do need my chocolate fix I started off by making a deal with myself, I try to make a win win situation between my body and my taste buds, “If I eat clean for 5 days out of the week and make it to the gym atleast 4 times that week then I can have 2 off days”, then I started to see the results that I was looking for because my body was just overall functioning better. After being able to see and feel results I decided to step it up a notch and go 6 days of clean eating and 1 off day and making it to the gym at least 5 days a week or if I couldn’t get in the gym then I make sure I am doing something active. So try it out and make a manageable deal with yourself and as it gets a little easier, keep challenging yourself and make one even more difficult. Staying on track with your healthy life style is very important but being able to enjoy and indulge is important and after a while of only cheating on your healthy life style once a week may make you realize that you don’t actually need that cheat day. When I want chocolate I don’t want something with low sugar I want more like an ice cream sundae with hot fudge, and I am sure you all know what I am talking about and have that type of food you just crave. Soooo, to help ease the craving and still keep on track for eating healthy I substitute in some healthier choices like protein balls, whey pancakes, and 100 calorie no bake whey protein bars. Here are some recipes below! Try them out and also try replacing the ice cream or cookies and see if you still feel satisfied.

Image

Peanut butter protein balls

-1/3 cup natural peanut butter

-1/4 of honey

– 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder

– 3 table spoons of ground flax seed

– 3 table spoons dark chocolate chips

Image

Whey pancakes

-1/2 cup of oats

-1 scoop of favorite protein shake mix; I used chocolate

-2 egg whites

-1tbspn of Lowfat/Skim milk

-1 teaspoon/Packet of favorite sweetener

Directions:

1. Grind the oats in a Blender or a Coffee Grinder.

2. Mix all ingredients in a small bowl

3. Cook on greaced skillet(non-stick spray) until the entire top is dry looking and their are little holes, Or until bottom of pancake is golden brown; Flip and wait another 1 minute

4 .Enjoy with favorite topping

Image

100 calories No bake whey cookies

Ingredients

1/4 cup raw sugar

1/4 cup skim milk

1/2 tbsp butter

1 tbsp molasses

1/3 cup protein powder (vanilla protein powder i use nitrean 113 calories 23g)

21/2 tbsps creamy peanut butter

1 cup quick oats

Thanks for reading and enjoy!

-Christina Warren

One response

  1. Christina make me the peanut butter balls!

    August 16, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Leave a Reply

