More Fitness. More Knowledge. More Results.

Training With An Injury Part 1

Yesterday, around 12:20pm I was attempting a new PR for my clean: 260lbs.  Let’s Tarentino this for more fun.  Here’s the ending of my story first:

One of these bones isn't quite like the others

One of these bones isn’t quite like the others

Yep, that’s a fractured third metacarpal.  So let’s rewind and start from the beginning.  About 5 weeks ago, I got the worst migraine I’ve ever had.  Numb limbs, loss of speech articulation, vomiting; just awful.  Normally these symptoms pass a few days later and I’m back to 100%.  Not the case this time.  5 weeks later and I’m still dealing with diminished symptoms but symptoms none the less.  Now for a fitness obsessed individual like myself, not being to train is almost a fate worse than death.  Anytime I would try, the pressure on my skull/brain would become extremely intense and I’d either keel over in pain or nearly pass out.  You can see the issue here.  After a CT scan and tons of blood work, the docs had no answers so I just had to wait it out until I feel normal again.  There was a good  three and a half weeks where I couldn’t do anything, but with the Tough Mudder approaching, I knew I had to try to get something in.  I kept my workouts to an efficient minimum and once my head starting feeling wrong, I shut down the workout.

shut-it-down

Fast forward to the Mudder, and surprisingly, I felt pretty alright.  There were a few moments I was nervous that I was about to relapse into migraine-ville but I escaped unscathed.  Now were up to July 31st, 2013.  I feel great.  My muscles feel incredible after over a month off, my joints feel brand new and I am ready to tear it up.  I start with some light snatch technique work and its going great.  I’m getting under the bar quick and dropping into that overhead squat position with ease.  I decide to see where my clean is at seeing as I hadn’t cleaned heavy in over two months.  185; a great warmup.  205; still power cleaning.  225; decided to squat clean it to get ready for heavier loads.  245(10# less than my PR); felt like 205 all over again.  This is where my ego took over.  I was feeling so good that I wanted to make the jump to 260# and beat my old PR.  First attempt I catch it but my weight was a little too far forward.  Second attempt I actually crush my trachea with the bar but other than that I felt like I had it.  Scratch that; I KNEW I had it.  I decided to give it one more shot.  Oh the good old “1 more try” philosophy.  Welp, here, you take a look and let me know how you think it went.

Yup, when I fell backwards my left elbow decided it didn’t want to slip through so I landed with all 260lbs on a vertical forearm straight down into my hand and BOOM, we’re back to the fractured metacarpal.  Man, Tarentino is really onto something with the whole revealing the ending first then explaining how we got there.  Even I was intrigued to see where it went and I lived it.  In an instant, I made a comprehensive list of everything I wasn’t going to be able to do anymore and became crestfallen.  Went to the hospital yadda yadda yadda, whatever, who cares.  Now to the point of this article, HOW TO TRAIN WITH AN INJURY!  Well, now that you have the preface, well get into that tomorrow so make sure to check back!

photo

Ps, typing this whole thing with one hand SUCKS!

 

-Colin R. Wilson

Like us on Facebook!

6 responses

  1. Reblogged this on Colin R. Wilson.

    August 1, 2013 at 11:29 am

  2. bad luck man, hang in there and you will be back to it in no time.

    August 1, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    • Thank you sir, I appreciate your kind words

      August 1, 2013 at 7:18 pm

  3. Pingback: Training With An Injury Part 2 | Blood and Iron

  4. Pingback: Training With An Injury Part 2 | Nusantara Daily

  5. Pingback: Gettin’ High!… | Blood and Iron

Leave a Reply

